Graduate Students

Faisal Almogren headshot

Faisal Almogren

City and Regional Planning | falmogren@berkeley.edu
Middle East cities, urbanism, political theory, regional planning, urban form, Riyadh
heba

Heba Alnajada

Architecture | 710h@berkeley.edu
Forced and Voluntary Migration, Displacement, Exile, Subjectivity Refugee Camps, Politics and Discourses of humanitarianism
Alli Appelbaum

Alli Appelbaum

City and Regional Planning | alli.appelbaum@berkeley.edu
Comparative urban studies, governance, security, urban theory, middle-class urbanism, densification, urban history, African urbanisms
headshot

Celina Balderas Guzman

Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning | celina@berkeley.edu
Urbanism, urban resiliency, stormwater, urban wetlands, environmental engineering
Belik headshot

Laura Belik

Architecture | laurabelik@berkeley.edu
Uses of the street, politics of space, Latin America, urban democracy, commons
Juan photo

Juan Caicedo

Civil & Environmental Engineering | juan_caicedo@berkeley.edu
Behavioral modeling, data science, Latin American cities, and causal inference
Gustavo headshot

Gustavo Capela

Anthropology | guscapela@berkeley.edu
Nigeria, citizenship, transnational displacement, resistance, maroonage
Chris Chan

Chris Chan

Anthropology | ckc4@berkeley.edu
China, urbanization, digitalization, anthropology of cities, contemporary art, infrastructures
Priscila Coli headshot

Priscila Coli

City and Regional Planning | priscila_coli@berkeley.edu
Peripheral urbanization, governance, land tenure, public infrastructure, citizenship, right to the city, Global South
savannah

Savannah Cox

City and Regional Planning | savannah.cox@berkeley.edu
climate change, urban resilience, public infrastructure, the Anthropocene, neoliberalism
Crespo

Cristina Crespo Montañés

Energy and Resources Group | cristina_crespo@berkeley.edu
Energy poverty, coping with unreliable energy services, modeling decentralized energy resources, urban resiliency
Dodd

Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning | adrienne_dodd@berkeley.edu
climate change, natural hazards, climate displacement, just climate adaptation and resilience
Salma Elmallah

Salma Elmallah

Energy and Resources Group | salmae@berkeley.edu
Energy infrastructure, housing, urban analytics, city planning, governance
John Elrick headshot

John Elrick

Geography | jelrick@berkeley.edu
Urban history, political theory, cultural landscapes, science and technology studies
Falcone

Matt Falcone

Civil and Environmental Engineering | matthew_falcone@berkeley.edu
environmental fluid mechanics, climate change adaptation, coastal resiliency, nature-based solutions, infrastructure
Irene

Irene Farah Rivadeneyra

City and Regional Planning | irenef@berkeley.edu
Food systems, political economy, urban analytics, health inequities, Latin America
Matamoros

Pol Fité Matamoros

Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning | pfitematamoros@berkeley.edu
Critical Urban Theory, Geographical Political Economy, Industrial Restructuring, Authoritarian Regimes, History of Landscape and Urban Form
Giuseppina Forte headshot

Giuseppina Forte

Architecture | pinaforte@berkeley.edu
Space and politics, democratic city-making, peripheral urbanization, design activism, geo-politics of expertise, cultural politics
Greenbaum

Political Science | greenbaum@berkeley.edu
Political economy, waste, toxicity, food, East & Central Africa
Justin Greene

Justin Greene

Anthropology | jigreene@berkeley.edu
Noise, poetry and poetics, urban infrastructures, affect, discourses of health and hygiene, citizenship, Brazil
Cheng-Kai Hsu

Cheng-Kai Hsu

City and Regional Planning | ckh4618@berkeley.edu
Micromobility, public health, environmental exposure, mobile sensing
Kalyan

Bavisha Kalyan

Civil & Environmental Engineering | bkalyan@berkeley.edu
Environmental engineering, development engineering, water infrastructure & machine learning, lead contamination, water treatment technologies
yanin

Yanin Kramsky

City and Regional Planning | yanin.kramsky@berkeley.edu
spatial politics, climate justice, community-based participatory research, urban ecology, water resources
photo of pranav

City & Regional Planning | kuttaiah@berkeley.edu
Migration, Citizenship, Democracy, Political Economy, Caste, Race, Critical Geography, Science and Technology Studies
photo of andrea

Andrea Lara Garcia

Geography | alaragarcia@berkeley.edu
Borders, political economy, uneven development, urbanization
Jessica Lazarus

Jessica Lazarus

Civil & Environmental Engineering | jlaz@berkeley.edu
Sustainable transport policy, on-demand mobility, shared automated vehicles, agent based modeling
Lee

History | sarah.j.lee@berkeley.edu
The Central Valley, urban history, the history of policing, racial capitalism, uneven development, agroburbs
photo of flavia

Flávia Leite

City & Regional Planning | flavia_leite@berkeley.edu
Land and housing policy, housing financialization, access to credit, Latin America
Meiqing Li

Meiqing Li

City and Regional Planning | meiqing@berkeley.edu
Sustainable transportation, Asian cities, travel behavior modeling, urban spatial analytics
Annie Lloyd

Annie Lloyd

Geography | annie.lloyd@berkeley.edu
Urban transportation infrastructures, mobility justice, racialized space, uneven development, narratives of place making, gentrification, Los Angeles
Photo of Jonathan Marty

Jonathan Marty

City and Regional Planning | jonathanmarty@berkeley.edu
Housing, public space, urban governance, public/social housing, urban politics, violence and policing, urban history and theory, the city in literature and film.
headshot

Brenda Mathias

Social Welfare | brenda_mathias@berkeley.edu
Neighborhood effects, urban spaces, participatory action research, community building, youth
Beki's headshot

Beki McElvain

City and Regional Planning | bmcelvain@berkeley.edu
Disaster governance, development finance, knowledge politics, Mexico City
Giselle headshot

Giselle Mendonça Abreu

City and Regional Planning | giselle@berkeley.edu
Urbanization in the Global South, urban policy in Brazil, urban and planning theory, public infrastructure, economic development, urban-rural linkages
Alexandra Pan

Alexandra Pan

Civil & Environmental Engineering | alexpan33@berkeley.edu
transportation equity, shared mobility, spatial mismatch
Catherine Park

Catherine Park

Education | catherine_park@berkeley.edu
Global education, cultural politics of education, migration, displacement, urbanization, urban ethnography, China, East Asia
Madeleine Parker

Madeleine Parker

City and Regional Planning | madeleine.parker@berkeley.edu
Transportation equity, urban mobility, climate change adaptation, resilience planning, affordable housing
Peñaranda Currie

Isabel Peñaranda Currie

City and Regional Planning | ipenaranda@berkeley.edu
Urbanization in the Global South, Geographical Political Economy, Latin American cities, Peripheral and Frontier Urbanization, Informal Land and Housing Markets
Ramiller

Alex Ramiller

City and Regional Planning | alexramiller@berkeley.edu
Residential mobility, gentrification and displacement, urban property markets, housing tenure, neighborhood politics
Robinson

Juleon Robinson

Geography | juleon.robinson@berkeley.edu
Black Geographies, Urban Political Economy, Dispossession & Displacement, Housing Justice, Prison-Industrial Complex Abolition, New York City
Ángel Ross

Ángel Ross

Sociology | a.ross@berkeley.edu
Suburban and exurban poverty, housing, renters, local governance and policing
ettore

Ettore Santi

Architecture | ettoresanti@berkeley.edu
Urbanization, ecological modernization, human–nature–technology relations, architecture as infrastructure, China urban-rural interface
Laura Schmahmann

Laura Schmahmann

City and Regional Planning | laura.schmahmann@berkeley.edu
urban economics, geography of innovation, employment lands, gentrification and displacement, property markets
photo of nick

Nick Shatan

City & Regional Planning | n.shatan@berkeley.edu
Cooperatives, community development, race, finance, US housing policy, urban history, politics of knowledge and participation.
sierra

Valentin Sierra

School of Social Welfare | vqsierra@berkeley.edu
Native American Youth, Urban Indian Health, Critical Suicide Studies, Land, Space, Place and Race, Decolonial Research Methodologies
Taesoo Song

City and Regional Planning | taesoo.song@berkeley.edu
Housing Policy, Gentrification, Displacement, Eviction, Neighborhood Changes, Migration
Stenberg headshot

Matthew Stenberg

Political Science | stenberg@berkeley.edu
Local politics and elections, municipal administration, multilevel governance, public goods and infrastructure, post-Socialist cities, European Union, Germany, Central Europe
Vicente Tinoco headshot

J. Vicente Tinoco Ochoa

Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning | vicente.tinoco@berkeley.edu
Dams, rivers, water infrastructure, reservoir sediment management, Andean river basins, Amazon basin
fran

Francisco Trejo Morales

Anthropology | ft452@berkeley.edu
Affordable Housing, Urban Theory, Anthropology of Mexico, Social Theory, Urban Ethnography
Virtucio

Michael Virtucio

Civil and Environmental Engineering | michael_virtucio@berkeley.edu
Transportation networks, agent based modeling, disaster resilience, public transportation
Liubing

Liubing Xie

City and Regional Planning | liubing.xie@berkeley.edu
Comparative urban studies, urban history, urban ethnography, peripheral urbanization, urban governance, China, India
Megumi Yamanaka headshot

Megumi Yamanaka

City and Regional Planning | megumi_yamanaka@berkeley.edu
Urban mobility, Bus Rapid Transit, public transport, land use, non-motorized modes, planning, design, policy
photo of frank

Frank Yao

Landscape Architecture and Enviornmental Planning | frankyao@berkeley.edu
China Studies, National Territorial Landscape, Environmental History, Belt and Road Initiatives BRI, Urban History, Design History, Urban Morphology, Urban History, Urban Design, Landscape Infrastructure, waterways, and canals