Faculty Affiliates

Acey

City and Regional Planning | charisma.acey@berkeley.edu
Access to water, sanitation, and other basic services, local and regional environmental sustainability, public participation and collaborative governance
Ansell

Political Science | cansell@berkeley.edu
Public policy and urban governance processes, organization theory, public administration, political sociology and network analysis, Western Europe
Anzia

Public Policy and Political Science | sanzia@berkeley.edu
U.S. local and state politics, public sector unions, women in politics, public employee pensions
Athanasopoulos-Zekkos

Civil and Environmental Engineering | adda.zekkos@berkeley.edu
multi-hazard stressors on geotechnical engineering infrastructure; lifeline response to natural disasters; designing, monitoring and reinforcing lifelines; advanced sensing; vibrations from pile driving in dense urban environments
Balakrishnan

City and Regional Planning | sbalakrishnan@berkeley.edu
New Spatial Forms of Urbanization, Land-use changes, urbanization in the global south, land-use and property, global urban inequalities
Bayen

Civil and Environmental Engineering | bayen@ce.berkeley.edu
Modelling and control of distributed parameters systems: large scale infrastructure systems, transportation, water distribution
Brand

Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning | annalivia@berkeley.edu
racial landscapes in the US, urban planning, landscape architecture, racial justice, Black geographies
Caldeira

City and Regional Planning | tcaldeira@berkeley.edu
Comparative urban studies, social theory, ethnography and qualitative methodology, Brazil, democratization, cultural movements
Cascardi

Rhetoric | ajcascardi@berkeley.edu
Literature and philosophy, aesthetic theory, the novel, early modern Europe
Catalano

Public Health | rayc@berkeley.edu
Population stressors for gestation, maternal health
Cervero

City and Regional Planning | robertc@berkeley.edu
Transportation Planning; Transportation and Land Use; Infrastructure Planning; Growth Management planning; International Development
Chapple

City and Regional Planning | chapple@berkeley.edu
Housing, community and economic development, regional planning, residential and commercial/industrial displacement
Chari

Geography | chari@berkeley.edu
Social theory, political economy, development, agrarian studies, labor and work, racial/sexual capitalism, Black radical tradition, biopolitical struggle, oceanic humanities, photography, South Asia, South Africa, Indian Ocean
Chatman

City and Regional Planning | dgc@berkeley.edu
Land use and development policies, public transportation services, travel patterns and residential choices of immigrants to the U.S.
Christensen

City and Regional Planning | kchriste@berkeley.edu
Intergovernmental Relations, Evaluation, Housing Policy, Organizational Theory, Planning Theory
Collier

City and Regional Planning | stephenjcollier@berkeley.edu
Soviet urban planning and post-Soviet urban and social welfare transformation; infrastructure and politics; neoliberalism and governmental rationality; emergency government in the United States; urban vulnerability and resilience; climate change
Crysler

Architecture | crysler@berkeley.edu
Urban spatial politics, activism and cultural identity, queer culture, neoliberal globalization, nationalism, collective violence
Deakin

City and Regional Planning | edeakin@berkeley.edu
Transportation policy, planning and analysis; land use policy and planning; legal and regulatory issues; institutions and organizations; energy and the environment, new technologies
Dronova

Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning | idronova@berkeley.edu
Urbanization, remote sensing, spatial analysis, urban heat exposure, green infrastructure, resilience, restoration, wetland and urban landscape ecology
Evans

Sociology | pevans@berkeley.edu
Globalization, Labor Movements, States, Development
Fernald

Public Health | fernald@berkeley.edu
children, health inequality, immigrant health, nutrition, public health
Fields

Geography | desireefields@berkeley.edu
Urban inequality, political economy, housing markets, financial technology
Finan

Economics | ffinan@econ.berkeley.edu
Applied microeconomics, development economics, political economy
Fisher

Anthropology | dtfisher@berkeley.edu
Social-cultural anthropology, media, music and sound, photography and cinema, Australia
Frick

City and Regional Planning | kfrick@berkeley.edu
Transportation policy and planning, Major infrastructure projects, American politics and conservative views about planning
Fuller

Italian Studies | miafull@berkeley.edu
Architecture and city planning in the Italian colonies
Gadgil

Civil and Environmental Engineering | gadgil@ce.berkeley.edu
Drinking water treatment, innovation, social placement of technology, systems thinking, energy efficiency, global impact, developing world
Goldstein

UC Berkeley School of Law | rgoldstein@berkeley.edu
Race and ethnic politics, urban politics, bureaucratic politics, policing, criminal justice reform, quantitative methods
Gonzalez

City and Regional Planning / Civil and Environmental Engineering | martag@berkeley.edu
Urban sciences, Social networks, People and the built and natural environment
Gonzalez-Navarro

Agriculture and Resource Economics | marcog@berkeley.edu
Development economics, urban economics, subway infrastructure, rural land titling, road infrastructure, crime, and political economy
Gutierrez

Architecture | mpazgut@berkeley.edu
Natural materials innovation, resilient buildings, multiscale design
Hamstead

City and Regional Planning | zoehamstead@berkeley.edu
Environmental planning; climate planning; sustainability and resilience; environmental and climate justice; geographic and spatial analysis; urban policy and political economy; environmental governance; community engagement
Hanemann

Agricultural and Resource Economics | hanemann@berkeley.edu
Modeling individual choice behavior, demand forecasting, conservation, environmental regulation and economic valuation
Hansen

Civil and Environmental Engineering | mhansen@ce.berkeley.edu
Transportation economics, policy and planning, air transportation, public transportation
Harding

Sociology | dharding@berkeley.edu
Poverty, inequality, causal inference, mixed methods, incarceration and prisoner reentry, education, neighborhood effects, urban communities, adolescence
Harris

Public Health | eharris@berkeley.edu
Molecular virology, pathogenesis, immunology, epidemiology, scientific capacity building in developing countries
Henkin

History | marhevka@berkeley.edu
America since 1607: 19th Century, urban, cultural
Holston

Anthropology | jholston@berkeley.edu
Cities and citizenship, political theory, democracy and law, planning and architecture, urban ethnography, Brazil, the Americas
Horvath

Civil and Environmental Engineering | horvath@ce.berkeley.edu
Energy, climate, civil infrastructure, engineering, project management
Hsing

Geography | yhsing@berkeley.edu
Political economy of development in East Asia, power and space, cultural and environmental politics, urbanization, China

City and Regional Planning | jinnes@berkeley.edu
Planning Theory; Planning Process, Collaborative Planning; Research Methods; Urban Social Structure and Equity; Water Policy; Transportation Policy; Metropolitan Governance
Kammen

Energy and Resources Group | kammen@berkeley.edu
Renewable energy systems, health and environmental impacts of energy generation and use, international R&D policy, climate change, energy forecasting and risk analysis
Kanafani

Civil and Environmental Engineering | kanafani@ce.berkeley.edu
Transportation planning and systems analysis, air transportation
Katz

Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences | randy@cs.berkeley.edu
Trusted and reliable network computing, smart cities, data science, smart buildings, smart grids
Kondolf

Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning | kondolf@berkeley.edu
Cities and hydrology, river-city relations, urban river revitalization, fluvial geomorphology, environmental planning
Laguerre

African American Studies | mlaguerr@berkeley.edu
Information technology, the American Metropolis, globalization, global governance, diasporic communities, multiculturalism, urban neighborhoods in US, France, Berlin and London
Lamb

City and Regional Planning | zlamb@berkeley.edu
Urban climate change adaptation, flooding, urban design for climate justice, affordable housing, shared equity housing
Lerman

Public Policy; Political Science | alerman@berkeley.edu
Politics, criminal justice, privatization, public opinion, and political behavior
Lucas

Sociology | lucas@berkeley.edu
Inequality, discrimination, education, tracking, college entry, effectively maintained inequality theory, research methods, sample design, causality, epistemologies, agent-based modeling, and research statistics
Macdonald

City and Regional Planning | emacdon@berkeley.edu
Urban design, history of urban form, sustainable urban form, street and public space design, waterfront promenades
Morello-Frosch

Environmental Science, Policy and Management | rmf@berkeley.edu
Structural determinants of environmental health disparities, air pollution and perinatal outcomes, environmental justice, social movements, science, and environmental health policy-making

History | mnylan@berkeley.edu
Water, transport, monuments, urban China (early empires, 11th century, contemporary)
Ong

Anthropology | aihwaong@berkeley.edu
Southeast Asia, China, modernity, cities, governance, science, technology and society studies, contemporary art
Post

Political Science | aepost@berkeley.edu
Urban politics and policy, comparative political economy, urban infrastructure (esp. water and sanitation), environmental politics and policy, Latin America
Rabinow

Anthropology | rabinow@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology, philosophy of human and life sciences, modernity, the contemporary, France
Ray

Energy and Resources Group | isharay@berkeley.edu
Equity, affordability and access to water in low-income regions, gender, sanitation
Riley

Public Health | lwriley@berkeley.edu
Molecular epidemiology, drug resistance in Gram-negative bacteria, tuberculosis, rapid diagnostic test development, field epidemiology and global health research focused on diseases of urban slums
Rodriguez

City and Regional Planning | danrod@berkeley.edu
Public transportation, urban sustainability, urban health, environment and health impacts of traveler behaviors
Sánchez-Jankowski

Sociology | sanjan@berkeley.edu
Poverty, gangs, crime, violence, race and ethnic relations
Schiavon

Architecture | schiavon@berkeley.edu
​​Sustainable building design, energy efficiency, thermal comfort, indoor air quality, energy simulation, post-occupancy evaluation
Sengupta

Civil and Environmental Engineering | rajasengupta@berkeley.edu
Transportation, wireless communications and inertial navigation for vehicle systems
Snell-Rood

Public Health | clairesnellrood@berkeley.edu
Family and community influences on health promotion, gender and mental health, social inequality, stigma, and health, rural U.S. and South Asia
Soga

Civil and Environmental Engineering | soga@berkeley.edu
Infrastructure sensing, geotechnical structures, ground engineering, soil and granular mechanics, deep geomechanics, energy and engineering sustainability, soil-bio interaction, geoenvironmental engineering
Southworth

City and Regional Planning | msouthw@berkeley.edu
Morphology of the post-industrial city; street design and regulation; design of public space; analysis, design, and management of large scale urban environmental quality; user needs assessment; children's conception and use of the city
Stacey

Civil and Environmental Engineering | mstacey@berkeley.edu
Climate change, coastal erosion, critical infrastructure resiliency, fluid dynamics
Summers

Geography | btsummers@berkeley.edu

Urban space, gentrification, aesthetics, race, racism, identity 

Tackett

History | tackett@berkeley.edu
Chinese elite society (9th to 11th century), Late Tang capital cities, Song-Liao border during the 11th century, death and death rituals
Tsivanidis

Economics and Haas School of Business | ntsivanidis@berkeley.edu
urban economics, development economics, economic geography, applied microeconomics

 

 

Tugal

Sociology | ctugal@berkeley.edu
Political sociology, social movements, religion, Islam and the Middle East, culture, poverty and class, social theory, ethnography
Wacquant

Sociology | loic@berkeley.edu
"Urban inequality and marginality, incarnation and habitus, the penal state, ethnoracial domination, politics of reason, classical and contemporary social theory "
Waddell

City and Regional Planning | waddell@berkeley.edu
Urban economics, land use and transportation, urban simulation, urban informatics, visualization
Walker

Civil and Environmental Engineering | walker@ce.berkeley.edu
Urban transportation planning, policy, and operations, behavioral modeling, discrete choice analysis, travel behavior
Walker

Geography | walker@berkeley.edu
Human geography, political economy, global capitalism
Wolch

City and Regional Planning | wolch@berkeley.edu
Sustainable urbanism, urban design and public health, homeless and human service delivery, animal-society relations
Wong

Rhetoric | wwyw@berkeley.edu
Labor and creativity, modern and contemporary art, intellectual property, China, consumer cultures, Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Shenzhen
Yeh

History | sha@berkeley.edu
Asian history, East Asian studies, Qing and Modern China, Shanghai