Graduate Group

The following Academic Senate members have agreed to participate in the Global Metropolitan Studies Designated Emphasis and to advise students in one or both of the Designated Emphasis concentrations, as indicated here. Together, these faculty members constitute the Graduate Group for the Designated Emphasis in Global Metropolitan Studies.


Nezar AlSayyad, Architecture
Chris Ansell, Political Science
Peter Bosselmann, Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning 
Teresa Caldeira, City & Regional Planning
Anthony Cascardi, Comparative Literature
Karen Chapple, City & Regional Planning 
Karen Christensen, City & Regional Planning
Jason Corburn, City & Regional Planning
Jan De Vries, History
Greig Crysler, Architecture
Peter Evans, Sociology
Mia Fuller, Italian Studies
Paul Groth, Geography
Mark Healey, History
James Holston, Anthropology 
You-tien Hsing, Geography
Judith Innes, City & Regional Planning
Michel Laguerre, African American Studies
Elizabeth Macdonald, City & Regional Planning
Aihwa Ong, Anthropology
Alison Post, Political Science and GMS (starting Fall 2009)
Isha Ray, Energy & Resources Group
Ananya Roy, City & Regional Planning
Sandra Smith, Sociology
Michael Southworth, City & Regional Planning and Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning
Richard Walker, Geography
Margaret Weir, Sociology and Political Science


Nezar AlSayyad, Architecture
Peter Bosselmann, Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning 
Ray Catalano, Public Health
Jason Corburn, City & Regional Planning
Robert Cervero, City & Regional Planning
Elizabeth Deakin, City & Regional Planning
Dan Kammen, Energy Resources Group and Publicy Policy
Adib Kanafani, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Matthew Kondolf, Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning
You-Tien Hsing, Geography
Arpad Horvath, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Michael Hanneman, Environmental Sciences, Policy and Management
Samer Madanat, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Alison Post, Political Science 
John Quigley, Economics and Public Policy and Business
William Satariano, Public Health
Joan Walker, Civil & Environmental Engineering