Graduate Students

John Elrick headshot

John Elrick

Geography | jelrick@berkeley.edu
Urban history, political theory, cultural landscapes, and science and technology studies
Giuseppina Forte headshot

Giuseppina Forte

Architecture | pinaforte@berkeley.edu
Space and politics, democratic city-making, peripheral urbanization, design activism, geo-politics of expertise, cultural politics
Amelia Hays headshot

Amelia Hays

City and Regional Planning | amelia.hays@berkeley.edu
Urban refugees, Sub-Saharan Africa, spatial politics of displacement, global humanitarianism, African urbanism, space, power, and place-making
Chris Herring headshot

Chris Herring

Sociology | christoph.herring@berkeley.edu
Urbanization, poverty, penality, welfare, housing, homelessness, social theory, political economy, ethnography
Shakirah Hudani headshot

Shakirah Hudani

City and Regional Planning | shakirah@berkeley.edu
International development and urban change, post-conflict cities, urban sustainability in the Global South, Sub-Saharan Africa
Knapp headshot

Freyja Knapp

Environmental Science, Policy, and Management | freyja@berkeley.edu
Environmental politics, global governance, science and technology studies, resource extraction, post-colonial relations, hazardous waste
Levenson headshot

Zachary Levenson

Sociology | zachary.levenson@berkeley.edu
Housing, land occupations, urbanization, political economy of decolonization, South Africa

Bridget Martin

Geography | martb244@berkeley.edu
Political economy of East Asia, US empire, militarism, developmental state, urbanization, South Korea
Chris Mizez headshot

Chris Mizes

City and Regional Planning | mizes@berkeley.edu
Markets, municipal finance, popular economies, public infrastructure, decentralization, urban and planning theory, publics, territory, West Africa
Rodenbiker headshot

Jesse Rodenbiker

Geography | rodenbiker@berkeley.edu
Political ecology, economic development, environmental and cultural politics, landscape, urbanization, China
Rosner headshot

Nicole Rosner

Anthropology | nrosner@berkeley.edu
Urban ethnography, peripheral urbanization, Right to the City, citizenship, Latin America
Salman headshot

Lana Salman

City and Regional Planning | lana.salman@berkeley.edu
Political economy of land markets, decentralization and statecraft, regional inequalities, municipalities, subnational comparisons, Middle East and North Africa, Tunisia
Manual Santana headshot

Manuel Santana Palacios

City and Regional Planning | manuel.santana@berkeley.edu
Transportation, land and equity, social exclusion, travel behavior of low-income households, Bus Rapid Transit, informal transportation, Latin American cities
Shelby headshot

Hayden Shelby

City and Regional Planning | hshelby@berkeley.edu
Land and housing, political economy, social movements, Southeast Asia, community development
Simonova headshot

Aleksandra Simonova

Anthropology | simonova@berkeley.edu
Power and space, governmentality, privatization of space, urban infrastructure, borders, urbanization, science and technology development, Post-socialist space, Russia
Sosa Lopez headshot

Oscar Sosa Lopez

City and Regional Planning | oscarsosa@berkeley.edu
Urban sustainability, infrastructure and citizenship, international migration and the city, urban and planning theory, urbanization in Mexico and Latin America
Stenberg headshot

Matthew Stenberg

Political Science | stenberg@berkeley.edu
Local politics, municipal administration, multilevel governance, public goods and infrastructure, post-Socialist cities, European Union, Germany, Central Europe
Suteethorn headshot

Kanokwalee Suteethorn

Landscape Architecture and Evironmental Planning | kmms@berkeley.edu
Urban forests, cultural services, Buddhist temple gardens, sacred trees, ritual spaces, religious beliefs, human behavior toward nature
Thompson headshot

David Thompson

Anthropology | david.thompson@berkeley.edu
Incarceration, rehabilitation, legal anthropology, citizenship, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Vicente Tinoco headshot

J. Vicente Tinoco Ochoa

Landscape Architecture and Evironmental Planning | vicente.tinoco@berkeley.edu
Dams, rivers, water infrastructure, reservoir sediment management, Andean river basins, Amazon basin
Wade headshot

Matt Wade

City and Regional Planning | matt.wade@berkeley.edu
Modernity and development, city planning, real estate, government rationalities, institutional anthropology, Jakarta, Southeast Asia
Werth headshot

Alexander Werth

Geography | awerth@berkeley.edu
Expressive practices, nightlife, cultural economies and regulation, sound, space and race, displacement, Oakland, CA
Zhang headshot

Jenny Zhang

Education | jfzhang@berkeley.edu
Education, international development, literacy programs, language ideology, Indonesia